Sekken Purpose - sekken.ch
Search

With every bottle sold, we support a social project that focuses on hygiene.

"Blue Schools" of Caritas in Cambodia

In the northwest of Cambodia, the rural population lives in the simplest conditions. Although water is available, hygiene is lacking, which exposes children in particular to the risk of disease. This is why Caritas Switzerland is working to improve hygienic conditions in schools. Hygiene is specifically promoted in eight so-called "Blue Schools". Of course, the key is to ensure that clean drinking water is available at all times. But more is needed: Caritas is setting up child-friendly, gender-separated and clean toilets with eco-septic tanks. This includes facilities for washing hands with soap fed by rainwater.

In Blue Schools, children learn about the connections between climate, ecology and health. In the school garden, students learn how food production is closely related to efficient use of natural resources. In a fun way, they improve their knowledge of healthy nutrition, organic farming methods and sustainable land and water use. An important topic at Blue Schools is the avoidance of plastic and the targeted recycling of recyclable materials.

In total, 3150 children in the eight Blue Schools can significantly improve their hygiene situation through this project. Particularly gratifying is the strong commitment of the 100 or so teachers, who are tackling the issue of hygiene with great enthusiasm. The project is so successful that Caritas Switzerland wants to accompany 45 more schools in Cambodia on their way to becoming "Blue Schools".

In collaboration with Caritas Switzerland

© Copyright Caritas 2021


ClimatePartner.com

All Sekken products are climate neutral. With the compensation we support the following two projects:

1087 - Ocean Protection Plastic Bank, Worldwide - Stop the plastic tide!

Over 8 million tons of plastic waste end up in the ocean every year - one dump truck per minute. In 2050, there will be more plastic than fish in the oceans. In developing countries in particular, vast amounts of plastic waste are generated by packaging and a lack of infrastructure to dispose of trash. This garbage accumulates on land and very quickly reaches the sea via rivers and through wind.

Money against plastic - that is the approach of this project to prevent this. In Haiti, Indonesia and the Philippines, waste collectors can earn their income in this way. Anyone can collect plastic waste there and exchange it for money, food, drinking water, cell phone credits, cooking oil or even school fees at the local Plastic Bank collection points. The exchanged equivalent value is higher than the actual market value of the plastic, so that the people on site can really live from it.

So plastic does not even get into the sea through this project. It is recycled and processed into so-called social plastic, which in the cycle becomes new products again.

1061 - Clean drinking water Kompong Chnang, Cambodia

Drinking water from filter systems

Nearly a quarter of the people in Cambodia have no access to clean drinking water, well over half live without adequate sanitation. Due to poor hygiene, children die every year from diarrheal diseases. Most families therefore rely on boiling water. This is done over an open flame with wood or coal. This produces toxic smoke that causes respiratory, heart and eye diseases.

The project is working to provide clean drinking water to 1.7 million people in 312,000 households, primarily in rural Cambodia, through subsidized ceramic water filtration systems. The capacity of one system is enough to meet the water needs of a family of five. The filters eliminate the need to boil water with wood or charcoal, thus avoiding CO2 emissions. The project thus provides access to clean water and improves air quality in homes.

In partnership with ClimatePartner.com

© Copyright ClimatePartner 2021

Search our shop

    EN

Suchen

Mit jeder verkauften Flasche werden soziale Projekte im Bereich Hygiene unterstützt.

«Blue Schools» der Caritas in Kambodscha

Im Nordwesten von Kambodscha lebt die Landbevölkerung in einfachsten Verhältnissen. Obwohl Wasser vorhanden ist, fehlt es an der Hygiene, was gerade die Kinder dem Risiko von Erkrankungen aussetzt. Deshalb setzt sich Caritas Schweiz für bessere hygienische Bedingungen an Schulen ein. In acht sogenannten «Blue Schools» wird die Hygiene gezielt gefördert. Zentral ist dabei natürlich, dass jederzeit sauberes Trinkwasser zur Verfügung steht. Es braucht aber mehr: Caritas richtet kinderfreundliche, geschlechtergetrennte und saubere Toiletten mit Öko-Sickerbecken ein. Dazu gehört auch Einrichtungen zum Händewaschen mit Seife, die mit Regenwasser gespeist werden.

In Blue Schools lernen die Kinder die Zusammenhänge zwischen Klima, Ökologie und Gesundheit kennen. Im Schulgarten lernen die Schülerinnen und Schüler, wie die Produktion von Nahrungsmitteln eng mit einem effizienten Gebrauch von natürlichen Ressourcen zusammenhängt. Auf spielerische Weise verbessern sie ihr Wissen über gesunde Ernährung, biologische Anbaumethoden und nachhaltige Land- und Wassernutzung. Ein wichtiges Thema an Blue Schools ist die Vermeidung von Plastik und das gezielte Recycling von Wertstoffen.

Insgesamt können durch dieses Projekt 3150 Kinder in den acht Blue Schools ihre Hygienesituation massgeblich verbessern. Besonders erfreulich ist das starke Engagement der rund 100 Lehrpersonen, die sich dem Thema Hygiene mit grossem Enthusiasmus annehmen. Das Projekt ist so erfolgreich, dass Caritas Schweiz 45 weitere Schulen in Kambodscha auf ihrem Weg zur «Blue School» begleiten will.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Caritas Schweiz

© Copyright Caritas 2021


ClimatePartner.com

Sämtliche Sekken-Produkte sind klimaneutral. Mit dem Ausgleich unterstützen wir folgende beiden Projekte:

1087 · Meeresschutz Plastic Bank, Weltweit – Die Plastikflut aufhalten!

Über 8 Millionen Tonnen Plastikmüll landen jedes Jahr im Meer – ein Kipplaster pro Minute. 2050 wird es in den Ozeanen mehr Plastik als Fisch geben. Gerade in den Entwicklungsländern entstehen Unmengen an Plastikmüll durch Verpackungen und fehlende Infrastruktur, um Müll zu entsorgen. Dieser Müll sammelt sich an Land und gelangt über die Flüsse und durch Wind sehr schnell ins Meer.

Geld gegen Plastik – das ist der Ansatz dieses Projekts, um das zu verhindern. In Haiti, Indonesien und auf den Philippinen können Müllsammler ihr Einkommen auf diese Weise verdienen. Jeder kann dort Plastikmüll sammeln und in den lokalen Sammelstellen der Plastic Bank in Geld, Lebensmittel, Trinkwasser, Handy-Guthaben, Speiseöl oder sogar Schulgebühren eintauschen. Der eingetauschte Gegenwert ist höher als der tatsächliche Marktwert des Plastiks, so dass die Leute vor Ort wirklich davon leben können.

So gelangt Plastik durch dieses Projekt gar nicht erst ins Meer. Es wird recycelt und zu sogenanntem Social Plastic verarbeitet, das im Kreislauf wieder zu neuen Produkten wird.

1061 · Sauberes Trinkwasser Kompong Chnang, Kambodscha

Trinkwasser aus Filtersystemen

Knapp ein Viertel der Menschen in Kambodscha hat keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser, weit über die Hälfte lebt ohne angemessene Sanitärversorgung. Aufgrund mangelnder Hygiene sterben jedes Jahr Kinder an Durchfallerkrankungen. Die meisten Familien sind deshalb darauf angewiesen, das Wasser abzukochen. Dies geschieht bei offener Flamme mit Holz oder Kohle. Dabei entsteht giftiger Rauch, der Atemwegs-, Herz- und Augenkrankheiten verursacht.

Das Projekt arbeitet daran, 1,7 Millionen Menschen in 312.000 Haushalten, vor allem im ländlichen Kambodscha, sauberes Trinkwasser über subventionierte Keramik-Wasserfilter-Systeme zu verschaffen. Die Kapazität eines Systems reicht für den Wasserbedarf einer fünfköpfigen Familie. Die Filter machen das Abkochen mit Holz oder Kohle überflüssig und vermeiden so CO2-Emissionen. Das Projekt ermöglicht damit den Zugang zu sauberem Wasser und verbessert die Luftqualität in den Wohnräumen.

 In Zusammenarbeit mit ClimatePartner.com

© Copyright ClimatePartner 2021

Search our shop

    DE